How To Relax In College

By Kristen Harris on March 2, 2016

College is paradoxically defined by two extremes: fun and stress. Both are unfortunately ubiquitous for students. How can you make dealing with stress into something that’s actually fun?

Color

Adult coloring books are one of the most unique trends on the market. Though it may seem silly at first, taking time out of the day to be artistic in the simplest way possible is actually quite relaxing. Best of all, these coloring books come in such a wide array that anyone can find the perfect one to enjoy.

Patterns, gardens, and animals fill the pages of these coloring books designed for an older audience. Fans of Sherlock, Doctor Who, or the Harry Potter series can even find books designed especially for them.

sherlockcoloringbook.jpg

(Image Via Cnet)

Find A Hideaway

Having a place to escape for a breath of fresh air will become vital to surviving your most stressful days. Search for a spot on or near campus where you can go to take the time to yourself and “hideaway” from the world. This could be anywhere from under a big tree to a couch in the furthest corner of the library.

(Image via Kristen Harris)

Visit Local Animal Shelters

What’s more relaxing than spending time with a furry friend? Since your pets are still at home, take the time to hang out with pets who are still looking for theirs. You can volunteer or even just go for a visit now and then. Animals who live in a shelter are stressed out, too, so the benefits go both ways!

more common in shelters,

(Image via Wikipedia)

Go For Walks in Beautiful Places

Somewhere, there is a garden or a lake or a beach just begging you to admire it. Find somewhere lovely for a leisurely stroll. Even a brief five-minute walk can make your day feel brighter. Maybe can even stop and smell the (literal) roses along the way.

(Image via Kristen Harris)

College students have no time for stress. By taking even just a few minutes out of each day to relax, we can find a better balance. Releasing stress can be fun and even inspiring.

I'm studying Broadcast, Print and Online Media at Florida Southern College. When I'm not studying by the fountain or hunting down sources for a campus news article, then you can find me curled up with a good book or watching Doctor Who.

Follow Uloop

Apply to Write for Uloop News

Join the Uloop News Team

Discuss This Article

More Uloop Health Articles

Recent College News Articles

GET TOP STORIES DELIVERED WEEKLY

BROWSE OTHER COLLEGES

Back to Top

Log In

or Sign Up
Students
Post FREE Listings
Student Start Here
Employers
Post Jobs for Students
Employers Start Here
Housing Providers
Post Available Housing
Housing Start Here

Enter College Name to See Local Results

Log In

Contact Us

Forgot your password?

Your new password has been sent to your email!

Logout Successful!

You just missed it! This listing has been filled.

Post your own housing listing on Uloop and have students reach out to you!

Upload An Image

Please select an image to upload
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format
OR
Provide URL where image can be downloaded
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format

By clicking this button,
you agree to the terms of use

By clicking "Create Alert" I agree to the Uloop Terms of Use.

Image not available.
By clicking Get Started or Sign In you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service

Add a Photo

Please select a photo to upload
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format